Thank God it’s Monday!

I can admit that I definitely have the upper hand when it comes to appreciating Monday’s—and today maybe more so than ever. While most people are starting their week back at work, I am finally enjoying a much needed break after the insanity of Sunday!

I work in a church and run a children’s program that is attended by somewhere around 150 kids every Sunday. Our program runs twice through the morning, and I have over 100 volunteers that answer to me (or answer to people who answer to me) throughout the course of the week. In my world, everything converges on Sunday. Yesterday we had 163 kids in our program, and 741 people in attendance at our church. The to do list is endless, and there is always a fire to put out somewhere. I love my job, but it is draining. Sundays are enough to do me in!

To make matters worse, right now Ryan and I are still processing Gram’s death (read about her here), which happened just over one week ago. We will have to travel 5 hours away for the funeral, which is set for this coming Saturday, two weeks after her passing. Because we aren’t able to take two weeks off right now, we have had to immediately dive back into work and life without any real time to think. At a time when all we have wanted to do is be with family and grieve together, we’ve been isolated to the demands and pressures of our everyday world. It’s been mentally taxing and physically draining for both of us. We just need a break.

So naturally, all I can say today is, “thank God it’s Monday.”

  • Thank God it’s Monday because I can finally just sit, and breathe, and think.
  • Thank God it’s Monday because the stress and pressure of Sunday is gone for one more week.
  • Thank God it’s Monday because now we are finally able to take our bereavement leave and head down to see our family this week.
  • Thank God it’s Monday because I have a massage appointment booked today!
  • Thank God it’s Monday because we are tired, we are drained, and we are ready for a break.

Most importantly, thank God it’s Monday because today is a new day. Lamentations 3:23 tells us that God’s mercies are new every morning. I am so thankful to know that yesterday’s junk doesn’t have to become today’s baggage. I am so thankful to know that every day I can have a fresh start. And on a day like today, when I desperately need to experience comfort, and love, and peace, I am more thankful than ever for the fresh mercies of God.

What are you thankful for today? You may not have Mondays off like me, but surely you can think of at least one reason to thank God that it’s Monday!

2 thoughts on “Thank God it’s Monday!

  1. Elma says:

    Praying for you Talasi and Ryan that God would truly bless you with comfort, love, and peace. I pray that the peace of God would guard your mind and heart as you reflect on and cherish the precious memories of your grams.

    I am thankful today for only 2 more sleeps and off I go with Destiny…..up up and away…to Paraguay to visit Erna. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment